AIDP

AIDP vs PMI-CPMAI: Which AI Delivery Certification?

PMI-CPMAI vs AIDP compared on exam format, prerequisites, cost, renewal and who each suits, to help you pick an AI project management certification.

AIDP vs PMI-CPMAI: Which AI Delivery Certification?

Last checked: 22 October 2026.

If you are choosing an AI project management certification, the two credentials most people compare are PMI-CPMAI from the Project Management Institute and AIDP, the AI Delivery Professional designation from ADaSci. PMI-CPMAI suits professionals who want a structured AI project methodology, a bundled prep course and no experience requirement. AIDP suits experienced delivery leaders who want a single, deliberately hard in-person examination of judgment on enterprise AI programmes.

This guide sets the two side by side on format, exam, prerequisites, cost, validity and renewal, and adds the IAPP's AIGP as a reference point for professionals whose work leans towards AI governance. Every competitor fact below comes from the issuing body's own pages, linked inline.

PMI-CPMAI vs AIDP at a glance

Full namePMI Certified Professional in Managing AIAI Delivery ProfessionalFormatCertification exam bundled with a 21-hour self-paced exam prep courseA single examination with no course or attendance requirementExam length160 minutesAbout four hours, one sittingQuestions120 questionsScenario-based, best-answer items with four options (count not published on the site)DeliveryNot stated on PMI's certification page; set at the scheduling stepIn person, computer-based and proctored in the sitting cityPrerequisites"No experience required"Five or more years of enterprise AI and data delivery recommended, and optionalCostBundle price shown in the PMI store at checkout, with member pricingUSD 350 per sitting, one attemptValidity and renewal30 PDUs every three yearsValid for two years; renewed by a shorter online update exam at USD 150Pass rateNot published on the pageAround 35% indicative first-attempt pass rateLanguagesTen languages, including English, Japanese, Arabic and Spanish (LATAM)Not stated

Sources: the PMI-CPMAI certification page, PMI's maintain and renew page, and ADaSci's AIDP overview, exam page and maintenance page.

What PMI-CPMAI certifies

PMI describes PMI-CPMAI as confirming that a holder "can manage complexity, align diverse teams, and create solutions that blend technical excellence with strategic impact". The credential is tool-agnostic and is organised around six CPMAI phases, which run from matching AI with business needs, through identifying data needs, managing data preparation, iterating development and delivery, and testing and evaluating AI systems, to operationalising AI.

The methodology is the heart of the credential. A candidate learns a repeatable life cycle for AI projects, with a strong emphasis on data, and is then tested on it. PMI also publishes a downloadable Exam Content Outline from the certification page for the detail of what is examined.

What AIDP certifies

AIDP certifies delivery judgment: the decisions that determine whether an enterprise AI initiative changes a business number once it is built. The competency blueprint is authored by AIM Research and has six weighted domains, which are Opportunity Framing and Value Definition (18%), Feasibility and Solution Decisions (16%), Delivery Planning and Execution (18%), Data, Risk and Responsible Deployment (18%), Adoption, Change and Value Realisation (16%), and Stakeholder, Cost and Portfolio Leadership (14%).

An examination board owns item writing, review and standard setting, and a standard-setting panel fixes the cut score, according to ADaSci's standard page. Every item is a scenario with a single best answer. The public sample item, for instance, describes a claims-triage model that is 91% accurate yet barely used, and asks for the highest-leverage first action.

The gap AIDP addresses is well documented. AIM's own reporting on why enterprise AI projects stall between pilot and production points to organisational readiness, governance and trust as the recurring causes, which are the areas the AIDP domains weight most heavily.

Exam format compared

The PMI-CPMAI exam has 120 questions in 160 minutes, according to the PMI page, and is offered in ten languages. PMI's public page does not state whether the exam is taken online or at a test centre, so candidates should confirm delivery options when scheduling.

The AIDP exam is a single four-hour session, computer-based and sat in person in the sitting city under invigilation. ADaSci says in its FAQ that in-person sittings keep the standard consistent, because every candidate is measured against the same bar in the same conditions. The exam is designed to be hard, with an indicative first-attempt pass rate of around 35%, and retakes are allowed at the next sitting.

For candidates, the practical difference is effort and logistics. PMI-CPMAI is a shorter exam supported by a course. AIDP is a longer exam that requires travel to one of seven cities, currently Singapore, New York, Sydney, Austin, Bengaluru, Hong Kong and Hyderabad, as listed on the registration page.

Prerequisites and who can sit each exam

PMI headlines the credential with "No experience required" and says it suits people who are "already delivering AI initiatives or eager to start". This makes PMI-CPMAI accessible to project managers moving into AI work and to those earlier in their careers.

AIDP has open registration, and ADaSci describes the exam as self-selecting. The eligibility page recommends five or more years leading or delivering enterprise AI and data initiatives, while making clear that this is optional. The listed audience is product managers, delivery leads, solution architects, transformation leads, consultants, heads of AI and data, and programme owners.

Cost and what the fee includes

PMI sells PMI-CPMAI as a bundle containing the certification, the 21-hour PMI-CPMAI Exam Prep Course and special member pricing. The PMI store listing loads the price dynamically and the certification page does not print a figure, so check the current member and non-member price in the store before you budget.

AIDP costs USD 350 per sitting for one attempt. According to the fees page, that covers the examination sitting, designation conferral on passing, a listing on the AIDP holder registry, the Candidate Handbook and Competency Blueprint, the post-nominal and holder mark, and two-year validity. ADaSci members receive a discount at checkout, and a sitting can be transferred up to 14 days before the date.

Initial feeBundle price in the PMI store (member pricing available)USD 350 per sittingPrep course21-hour self-paced course included in the bundleNo prep course by design; free sample exam (USD 19 per retry)Renewal30 PDUs every three years, with a renewal fee billed by PMIUSD 150 every two years for the update exam

Validity and renewal

PMI-CPMAI holders maintain the credential by earning 30 professional development units (PDUs) in a three-year cycle. PMI's renewal page requires at least 18 Education PDUs, allows up to 12 Giving Back PDUs and asks for a minimum of four PDUs in each Talent Triangle area. The 21-hour prep course itself awards 21 PDUs, which PMP holders can also count towards their own renewal.

AIDP is valid for two years and is renewed by examination. The maintenance page describes a shorter update examination, sat online in one session, at USD 150 every two years. Holders may use the AIDP post-nominal and holder mark on profiles, signatures and CVs while the designation is valid.

Other AI delivery credentials worth knowing

Few credentials sit squarely on AI delivery, and many popular project management certifications, such as PMI-ACP, are not AI-specific. One well-documented adjacent option is the IAPP's Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (AIGP), which covers the AI life cycle, AI risk management and responsible AI governance, according to the IAPP certification page.

AIGP (IAPP)AI governance, risk and responsible deployment100 questions, 2.75 hours plus a 15-minute breakOnline via Pearson VUE OnVUE or at a test centreUSD 649 members, USD 799 non-membersTwo-year term; 20 continuing education credits and a maintenance fee (USD 250 for non-members, covered for members)

Source: the IAPP AIGP exam store page. AIGP overlaps most with AIDP's Data, Risk and Responsible Deployment domain, so it pairs well with either credential for professionals who own AI risk as well as delivery.

Who should choose PMI-CPMAI

PMI-CPMAI is the better choice if you are new to AI projects, or new to project management, and want a structured life cycle to work from. The bundled course gives you a defined study path, the exam is available in ten languages, and there is no experience threshold to clear.

It also makes sense if you already hold PMP or CAPM, because the course PDUs count towards those renewals and the credential sits inside an ecosystem many employers already recognise. Teams standardising on one AI project methodology across a large PMO will find the CPMAI phases a practical common language.

Who should choose AIDP

AIDP is designed for practitioners who are already accountable for outcomes on enterprise AI programmes and want a credential that tests the calls they make on the job. If you have several years of delivery experience, are comfortable with a demanding four-hour exam, and can reach one of the seven sitting cities, AIDP is the closer fit.

Because there is no course to complete, preparation is light: ADaSci recommends reading the body of knowledge and sitting the sample exam, a three-hour, 45-item diagnostic that is free on the first attempt. ADaSci explains the reasoning in why AIDP does not have a reading list.

Can you hold both?

Yes, and for some careers the combination works well. A professional could use PMI-CPMAI to learn and evidence a methodology early on, then sit AIDP once they are leading AI portfolios and want their judgment measured against a fixed bar. The two credentials renew on different cycles, so plan for PDUs every three years and an update exam every two.

If AIDP fits where you are now, the next sittings are Singapore and New York on 13 November 2026, Sydney on 20 November and Austin on 11 December, followed by Bengaluru and Hong Kong on 26 February 2027 and Hyderabad on 5 March 2027. Choose a sitting and register for AIDP, or read the full AIDP overview first.

Frequently asked questions

Is PMI-CPMAI or AIDP better for AI project management?

It depends on experience. PMI-CPMAI suits those who want a structured methodology and a prep course with no experience requirement, while AIDP suits experienced delivery leaders who want an in-person exam of judgment with a recommended five or more years of experience.

How many questions are on the PMI-CPMAI exam?

PMI lists 120 questions with 160 minutes to complete them on its PMI-CPMAI page.

Does PMI-CPMAI require experience?

No. PMI states "No experience required" for PMI-CPMAI. AIDP also has no mandatory experience requirement, though ADaSci recommends five or more years of enterprise AI and data delivery.

How much does the AIDP exam cost?

USD 350 per sitting, covering one attempt. Renewal is USD 150 every two years by a shorter online update examination.

Is the AIDP exam online?

The AIDP certification exam is sat in person, computer-based and invigilated in the sitting city. The sample exam and the two-yearly renewal exam are taken online.

How long is each credential valid?

PMI-CPMAI is maintained by earning 30 PDUs every three years. AIDP is valid for two years and renewed by examination.

Written by

ADaSci Editorial

The ADaSci Editorial team publishes research explainers, industry analysis and practical guides for AI and data science professionals.

More from ADaSci